• email
  • Bookmark and Share

Alfredsson, Brown, Toews named finalists for Messier leadership award

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators, Dustin Brown of the Los Angeles Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks are the three finalists for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

The award is presented to the player "who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season."

Alfredsson, the NHL's longest-serving active captain, leads the Senators in games played, goals, assists and points.

Brown has spent his entire nine-year NHL career with the Kings, serving as their captain for the past five seasons. He is consistently among the league leaders in hits.

Toews was named captain of the Blackhawks in 2008 when he was just 20-years-old, making him the third-youngest captain in NHL history at the time.

All three players are involved in several charities in their home cities.

The winner of the award is selected by Mark Messier, who captained the Edmonton Oilers and New York Rangers to Stanley Cup titles in his career.

More Stories

Melnyk says Senators need leadership, no word yet on Spezza's future

OTTAWA - Eugene Melnyk expects to make the playoffs every year, and when his team misses out he...

Person familiar with search tells AP: Jim Benning, Tim Murray among 4 Sabres GM finalists

BUFFALO, N.Y. - The Buffalo Sabres have narrowed their general manager search to four...

Alfredsson, Luongo, Kane among top 10 NHL players to watch in 2013-14

The 2013-14 NHL season opens Oct. 1. Here are 10 players fans should keep an eye on: Daniel...

Sens move on without Alfredsson, but still feel sting of captain's departure

OTTAWA - There was a sense disbelief in the nation's capital Friday as news broke that longtime...
blog comments powered by Disqus

THN on Twitter

What do you think of the Brent Seabrook 3-game suspension for his hit on David Backes?


Our Partners